top of page

Nurse & Fit Blog

  • Writer's pictureAshley Fozio

Nurse Hack: Quick & Healthy Snacks

Did you know that on the average work day a nurse can walk 4 miles + during their shift? That's insane! Staying energized during work or clinical is crucial for our body and mind.


It's really easy to reach for that can of pop or Red Bull when you hit that wall, and while that will give you the energy you need. It's only temporary, there is nothing of nutritional value within it, and the crash that comes afterwards is WAY worse than the initial wall. So what do you do? You grab more and more of it to prevent that crash... YIKES!


One of the most common questions I get asked is what are some of my go to nutrient packed snacks I eat during work to help me stay energized and focused! We all know the usual nuts, apples, mozzarella cheese sticks... So I wanted to share some of favorites that aren't as commonly thought of, that prevent me from heading to the vending machine.


Most of these require minimal prep and are pretty grab and go! Some do require a little more time but are totally worth it in the end :) I promise, I have made all of these while in school, working, and doing both! Those that require some extra time are not TOO time consuming!



1. Hummus stuffed mini peppers

Those little fun neon colored mini peppers stuffed with red pepper roasted hummus, YUMMY! Crunchy, crisp, fresh, with a little spice! You get good nutrients and healthy fats, just don't go hummus overboard. I love Sabra hummus but it's supper simple to also make your own; chickpeas, tahini, lemon juice, garlic, and olive oil!

Time tip: Want something even more portable and fast... don't even bother stuffing them. Grab 1/4 cup of hummus and several peppers and go! They are good for dipping too!



2. Popcorn (air-popped)

Not just for a night at the movies or a comfy couch date. If air popped, popcorn is just 31 calories for 1 cup! Top with some Mrs. Dash sodium free seasonings for a flavor zing, my favorite is Fiesta Lime. It is an excellent source of dietary fiber, which we know helps improve cholesterol and digestion. Now this doesn't beat out fruits and veggies, but it certainly gives you a much healthier and more satisfying crunch than chips!

hint: make a big batch ahead of time, store in a ziplock bags by the serving for a quick and easy grab 'n' go!



3. Homemade no-cook "protein packs"

LIFE SAVERS! Especially if you only get a quick lunch or need that pick me up between after lunch and leaving. Things like nuts, cheese cubes, eggs, veggies, fruits. Most of my ideas have come from this blog post . Super simple to make for grab and go and super yummy for all cravings, sweet & salty, spicy, etc.


4. Beachbars

Alright... now protein bars are one of those things that are easy to have on hand every day for a simple and yummy snack. There are a ton of commercial brand of protein bars you can buy. But, most are just a glorified candy bar with a ton of artificial ingredients. Beachbars have no artificial ingredients and more proteins that sugars. It's an awesome substitute for those donuts EMS seems to bring every other day!



5. PB Protein Balls

You ever heard of buckeyes? Those butter infused peanut balls dipped in chocolate? Yeah... those are a definite weakness but SO not good for you! This PB & chocolate protein balls though... PERFECTION! Plus, good for a quick sweet tooth pick me up! (see the bottom of this post for the recipe)


6. Shakeology

YES... I freakin' love this stuff! It honestly has been my savior of nutrition for about 3 years now. This has saved me from the dreaded McDonalds trip before clinical, class, and now work on several occasions! Now if I know I'm going to need an extra pick me up at work it's super easy to mix it with water and ice or bring a bottle of almond milk to pop in the fridge until I'm ready to pour the pocket it. It gives me energy and all the nutrients I need to make it through any day of the week, but especially a work day! BONUS it kicks all the cravings from foods in the vending machine and break room that taunt you day in and day out.



7. Plain Greek Yogurt with mix-ins

Bringing a cup of greek yogurt to class and now work has been a long time favorite of mine. Now... I can't stand it plain it's disgusting that way haha. BUT it's high in protein and super filling! So I make my own flavors each day, I can change it up, it's fresh, and better than the prepackaged ones at the store.

My go-to mix-ins include but are not limited to any single ingredient or combination of these: peaches, apples, peanut butter, jam, cinnamon, honey, cacao nibs, tsp of any flavor shakeology, peanuts, bananas, oats, flax seed, graham cracker, cherries, kiwi, pumpkin, granola


8. Fruit/veggie chips

Sometimes you are just really craving that crunch of something which is why we tend to turn to greasy potato chips. No fear! Homemade fruit and veggie chips give you that crunch without all the preservatives and other ugliness!

Unfortunately, I don't have a definite recipe for these... it was more trial and error. Usually 375-400 for the oven, cut whatever I choose super thing, sprinkle a little EVOO and whatever seasoning I want on them, pop them in. I usually check on them every few minutes, stir them around, and broil them at the end for about 15-30 seconds to really get that crispiness.

My go-to's: bananas, apples, carrots, spinach, zucchini, eggplant



9. Cheesey Cauliflower Breadsticks

I legit hate most vegetables... I'm not even kidding, I wish I was, but I'm not. Most of them are gross and it takes A LOT of "hiding" for me to really eat them. I'm basically 4 years old when it comes to this. I stick with my usual eggplant, tomatoes, green beans, peppers, and onions as my go to... which gets REALLY boring after a while. I usually have to mix spinach into something and broccoli don't even get me started on how much I hate broccoli. It's ugly step sister... cauliflower, I NEVER in a million years thought I would try. Until one day.... I just went for it. I got riced cauliflower and decided to find a "hidden" recipe to mix it into... and OH MY GOD! Life changer!!! You don't taste the cauliflower at all, you don't get the bloat like from white carbs, you can't eat them warm or cold and it's still yummy, and it's getting a serving of veggies in without even realizing it! HECK YES!!

My go-to recipe can be found here . Dip those bad boys in a little homemade red sauce and it's perfection! Quick, easy, and not filled with carbs and sugar that will make you crash while at work or school!


10. Roasted Chickpeas

THESE ARE SO GOOD!!! Super simple to make also (recipe below). You can make them sweet, spicy, salty, tangy, whatever your heart desires.


Now these aren't the ONLY recipes and ideas I have but these are definitely more of the unique and unheard of ones. I hope you try some of these and if you do let me know!! I also plan to eventually write a post about go to lunches/meals while at work, not just snacks... so keep an eye out!


Happy nursing!

Recipes

PB Protein Balls

Prep Time: 10 minCook Time: 0 minReady in: 10 minYield: 24 1" balls

Ingredients

1 cup natural peanut butter (the kind with just peanuts and salt)

1/4 cup honey or 1/4 cup brown rice syrup for a vegan version

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups rolled oats

1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

Pinch of salt

1/3 cup mini chocolate chips

2-4 teaspoons water or additional vanilla extract

Directions

In a medium mixing bowl, stir together the peanut butter, brown rice syrup or honey and vanilla extract. Stir in the oats, coconut and salt until well combined and then add the chocolate chips. If the mixture doesn’t hold together well when pinched together, add the additional water or vanilla, a teaspoon at a time until the mixture holds together well when pinched. Form 1” balls by pressing about 1 tablespoon of the mixture together. Store at room temperature for up to 3 days or refrigerate for 1 week.


Roasted Chickpeas

This is for spicy roasted flavor. I change up the seasoning amounts and flavors for whatever I feel at that time. The same generally strategy works for any recipe. 425 for the oven 12-18 minutes or until crisp. Enjoy!


1-15 oz can of chickpeas

1 tsp olive oil

1/4 tsp cumin

1 dash cinnamon

1 dash cayenne pepper


Preheat oven to 425° F.

Combine chickpeas, 1 tsp. oil, cumin, cinnamon, and 1 dash cayenne pepper in a small bowl; mix well. Place on baking sheet that is lightly coated with spray.

Bake, shaking baking sheet two to three times during baking, for 12 to 18 minutes, or until lightly browned and crisp. Cool.






11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page