top of page

Nurse & Fit Blog

  • Writer's pictureAshley Fozio

Shakeology Myths -- DEBUNKED!

By this point the world knows that I drink "these shakes" every day because, well, I love them! They taste like dessert, fill me up until my next meal, and give me everything my body needs to stay happy and healthy!


However, I'm sure you've also heard some of the negative talk from people who aren't fully informed! I'm here to give you the low-down so you can make an informed and educated decision for yourself on if you want to give it a try! I mean they have a 30 day empty bag money back guarantee, so what do you have to lose?


It's just another one of those protein shakes --- MYTH

It's just too expensive for what you get --- MYTH

It's not real food --- MYTH

It's only good for if you need to lose weight --- MYTH


Okay... so you see the myths, you might even be nodding in agreement with them. Let me break it down for you!


1. The term "protein shake" has for some reason become a catch-all for all shakes used for the purpose of meal replacement, weight loss, or actual protein supplementation. It's like how people say "Kleenex" for all tissues. Anyway, all of these shakes are created differently, and that includes Shakeology. It is not "just" a protein shake -- it is SO much more! It is a dense super-food shake that contains fiber, phytonutrients, vitamins, minerals, and protein (want more detail? Go here). You'd have to find a lot of different foods to even come close to something comparable in flavor, in price, in nutrition, and in less than 170 calories. This is honestly a nutrient shake more than a protein shake, which is good since more people are actually nutrient deficient than protein deficient!


2. Expense. I too was shocked when I found out the price of Shakeology. That was part of the reason I signed up to be a coach right away. I was in it for the discount! I'm thrifty like that! I knew the value was 100% there and the price even without a discount is totally worth it, but heck. If I'm going to be drinking it every month, I might as well save myself some money.


It is considered a meal replacement shake as well. Meaning, I can deduct one meal from my grocery bill. I usually choose breakfast because I prefer having my shake on my way to work. This means I don't spend money on breakfast foods I would have otherwise eaten at home nor do I spend any money by stopping at a fast food restaurant or coffee joint in the morning.


Most healthy meal replacement shakes on the market cost between $3-$10 per shake. Shakeology falls at $4 per shake, the low end of average. Often times the shakes you buy from health food stores or at the grocery store are only 10-15 servings per tub, so the price seems more manageable. When in reality you are only getting 1/2 a month's worth or less of the shake! Shakeology comes in 30 serving bags meaning you are paying for 30 shakes, in bulk, up front.


3. The superfoods in Shakeology are whole-ingredient powders processed in a way to help preserve their nutrient value. It’s really difficult to source these specialty ingredients, but Beachbody has a whole team of scientists whose mission it is to help maximize the nutrition in every ingredient used in Shakeology.


I mean.... would you rather whole food powders with maximum nutrition or trying to eat every single super food individually daily... holy crap! It's way less time consuming and way less money!


When you compare other shakes against Shakeology, take a look at the calorie, fat, protein, and carbohydrate amounts, but also look at the ingredients. You'll see some other shakes have zero grams of sugar. That is NOT natural! Don't fall for it! Fruit NATURALLY has sugar in it -- good sugar! So those shakes achieve it by using artificial sweeteners, flavors, colors, and preservatives... all of which Shakeology does NOT have!


4. More often than not shakes are marketed as a "weight loss method" or "weight loss tool". You'll notice that with Shakeology it is marketed to target HEALTH. Not JUST weight loss. Consuming the stuff your body needs increases energy, decreases cravings, and helps you feel better overall. You become more active and less prone to binges or over-eating. As a result, yes, you may lose weight if your body needs it... however, weight loss in not the sole purpose of Shakeology. Shakeology is for overall good health to those are at their ideal weight or those that are overweight. It does not matter!


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page